>2010 Scott O’Dell Award

>I’m pleased to be able to tell you that the winner of the 2010 Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction is Matt Phelan for The Storm in the Barn, published by Candlewick. The award, administered by Elizabeth Hall and judged by Hazel Rochman (chair), Ann Carlson, and yours truly, is a cash prize of 5000 dollars.

share save 171 16 >2010 Scott ODell Award
Roger Sutton About Roger Sutton

Roger Sutton has been the editor in chief of The Horn Book, Inc, since 1996. He was previously editor of The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books and a children's and young adult librarian. He received his M.A. in library science from the University of Chicago in 1982 and a B.A. from Pitzer College in 1978. Follow him on Twitter: @RogerReads.


  1. waltergiant says:

    >Inspired choice!

  2. Monica Edinger says:

    >Oh, yay!!!

  3. >Brilliant choice!

  4. ProfessorNana says:

    >Absolutely brilliant and insightful. This quiet book deserves as many accolades as possible.

  5. >Yay! What wonderful news.

  6. Susan Patron says:

    >Brilliant storytelling on multiple levels! I think Scott O'Dell would have loved this book and cheered its creator. Bravo, Matt Phelan.

Speak Your Mind