Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events

Events List Navigation

February 2016

Josh Funk at the Framingham Barnes & Noble

February 6 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Framingham Barnes & Noble,
1 Worcester Rd.
Framingham, MA 01701 United States
+ Google Map

Join the Framingham Barnes & Noble Saturday, February 6, at 11:30 am for a special storytime reading and signing of Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast by author Josh Funk!

Find out more »

Ruta Sepetys at Porter Square Books

February 9 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Porter Square Books,
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140 United States
+ Google Map

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in Salt to the Sea, an epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating yet unknown tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana,…

Find out more »

Heather Patterson at the Prudential Barnes & Noble

February 13 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Prudential Center Barnes & Noble,
800 Boylston St., Suite 179
Boston, MA 02199 United States
+ Google Map

Join the Prudential Barnes & Noble for a special storytime and book signing with author Heather Patterson, who will be reading her book Passing the Bone: America’s Next POTUS. It’s the story of Bo Obama, first Pup of the United States, as he prepares to pass the bone to his successor.

Find out more »

Ryan Higgins and Bob Shea at The Blue Bunny

February 15 @ 10:30 pm - 11:30 pm
The Blue Bunny Books and Toys,
577 High St.
Dedham, MA 02026 United States
+ Google Map

The Blue Bunny is super excited to be hosting two terrific picture book author-illustrators for President’s Day. Ryan Higgins (Mother Bruce, Wilfred) and Bob Shea (Ballet Cat, Dinosaur vs. Bedtime, and many more) are sure to lead us in a rollicking frolicking fun-fest! “The vision and cleverness of Higgins and his delightful illustrations have produced an outrageously funny picture book that will make even the grumpiest readers laugh.” — Indie Kids’ Next List (Top 10 Selection) “The humor and theme…

Find out more »

Chris & Nicole Blongiewicz at the Framingham Barnes & Noble

February 16 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Framingham Barnes & Noble,
1 Worcester Rd.
Framingham, MA 01701 United States
+ Google Map

Join the Framingham Barnes & Noble for a special local author storytime and signing of Frederick the Paramedic by Chris and Nicole Blongiewicz. Storytime will be followed by a hands-on learning experience!

Find out more »

“The Stuff of Children’s Playthings: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Greek Mythology” presentation at MIT

February 18 @ 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Gasson Hall 305 Auditorium, Boston College,
140 Commonwealth Ave.
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467 United States
+ Google Map

“The Stuff of Children’s Playthings: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Greek Mythology” Professor Sheila Murnaghan, Alfred Reginald Allen Memorial Professor of Greek, Department of Classical Studies, University of Pennsylvania In two pioneering volumes, A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys (1851) and Tanglewood Tales (1853), Nathaniel Hawthorne transformed classical mythology into pleasure reading for children. As he retold the myths for a new audience, he was clear about the need to suppress darker themes of sexuality and depravity that were present in the mind…

Find out more »

Peter H. Reynolds at The Blue Bunny

February 20 @ 11:00 am
The Blue Bunny Books and Toys,
577 High St.
Dedham, MA 02026 United States
+ Google Map

Come celebrate the publication of Stink and the Attack of the Slime Mold, the tenth title in the Stink book series, at this booksigning with illustrator Peter H. Reynolds.

Find out more »

MarcyKate Connolly at Porter Square Books

February 21 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Porter Square Books,
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140 United States
+ Google Map

For fans of tales by the Brothers Grimm, Ravenous, inspired by the fairytale “Hansel and Gretel,” is a riveting and wholly original story of an epic quest and a heroine who will stop at nothing to save the one she loves most. A companion to the author’s Monstrous, it will be enjoyed by fans of that book as well as readers who are new to this fully imagined and rich world. Also includes a bonus story, “Precious,” a prequel to…

Find out more »
$5

Children’s Books Boston “Winners, Losers, and Something In Between” Award Recap Panel

February 23 @ 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm
Simmons College, School of Management, Fifth Floor,
300 The Fenway
Boston, MA 02115 United States
+ Google Map

Please join Children’s Books Boston for a panel discussion (and refreshments!) WINNERS, LOSERS, AND SOMETHING IN BETWEEN: AN INSIDE LOOK AT BOOK AWARDS Simmons College, 300 The Fenway, Boston MA Management Building, 5th Floor 5:30-7:00 PM Tuesday, February 23 (Snow Date: Tuesday, March 1) Panelists: Cathie Mercier, Director of the Center for the Study of Children’s Literature at Simmons, has been a member of Newbery, Caldecott, Sibert, Wilder, Boston Globe-Horn Book, and NYT Best Illustrated Books Committees. Nancy Werlin, Author,…

Find out more »

Kim Savage at Book Ends Winchester

February 23 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Book Ends Winchester,
559 Main St.
Winchester, MA 01890 United States
+ Google Map

Winchester author Kim Savage will sign and talk about her debut young adult novel, After the Woods.

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events