Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Past Events

Events List Navigation

March 2015
$5 or free with book purchase

“Adam Rex & The Art of Home” exhibition opens at Gallery Nucleus

March 25 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Nucleus Gallery,
210 East Main St., Alhambra, CA 91801 United States
+ Google Map

Gallery Nucleus Presents: “Adam Rex & The Art of Home” A solo exhibition, film panel, and book-signing event Opening Night: Saturday, March 28, 2015 (2:00pm – 8:00pm) Artwork on Display: March 28, 2015 – April 12, 2015 Los Angeles, CA — From the book that inspired the movie Home, creator of The True Meaning of Smekday, artist Adam Rex will be flying in for his solo exhibition as well as the artist panel for The Art of Home. Come chat…

Find out more »

Jeanne Birdsall at the Brookline Public Library

March 25 @ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Brookline Public Library,
361 Washington St., Brookline, MA 02445 United States
+ Google Map

Jeanne Birdsall will discuss and sign her new intermediate novel The Penderwicks in Spring. Wednesday, March 25th, 3:30 pm at the Brookline Public Library’s Main Branch Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and with it comes all the joyful chaos of the Penderwicks. The brood has grown to six with the addition of Lydia, the new youngest sibling, and there are surprises in store for all. Some surprises are just wonderful, like Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some…

Find out more »
early bird registration: $115/NYLA members and students; $150/nonmembers

YSS Spring Conference: “Inform, Inspire, Ignite!”

March 27 @ 8:30 am - 4:15 pm
Islandia Marriott Long Island,
3635 Express Drive North, Islandia, NY 11749 United States
+ Google Map

The theme of “Inform, Inspire, Ignite!” supports our goal to inform library professionals about trends and practices in youth services, inspire them with new ideas, and ignite excitement about what’s happening in our libraries each and every day. It is our sincere hope that participants will leave with a renewed focus and energy, bringing that excitement back to the communities they work with. Join us and explore the possibilities! Early Bird Registration is now open! Check out the conference brochure…

Find out more »
free/members; donation/nonmembers

Scribe & Snack Write-In at The Writers’ Loft

March 27 @ 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
The Writers’ Loft,
20 North Main St. #360, Sherborn, MA 01770 United States
+ Google Map

Up your word count on Friday, March 27th from 10am-2pm* during our Scribe & Snack Write-In. Drop in for all or part of the day to write. Take a break at noon to chat over bagged lunches (we’ll provide the tea and coffee). This meeting will feature the Sweet Shamrock Bar from Hayley Barrett. *Note: This Hayley-led Write-In is taking place on the 4th Thursday of March, as opposed to the usual 3rd Thursday. This event is open to all.…

Find out more »

Anna Staniszewski at The Blue Bunny

March 27 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
The Blue Bunny Books and Toys,
577 High St., Dedham, MA 02026 United States
+ Google Map

March Pajama Storytime with Catching Joy We’ll be welcoming author Anna Staniszewski who will share her new bedtime picture book Power Down, Little Robot! Along with making paper robots, we’ll be collecting new kids’ pajamas for Solutions at Work for families in need. Drop off at The Blue Bunny during the month of March. Spread the warmth of a cozy night’s sleep!

Find out more »

Jeanne Birdsall at Porter Square Books

March 27 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Porter Square Books,
25 White St., Cambridge, MA 02140 United States
+ Google Map

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfield and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family. Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving…

Find out more »

Cynthia Lord at The Blue Bunny

March 28 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
The Blue Bunny Books and Toys,
577 High St., Dedham, MA 02026 United States
+ Google Map

The Blue Bunny Bookstore will host a book-signing and Q&A with Newbery-Award winning author Cynthia Lord on Saturday, March 28th, 2015. Lord is the author of the bestselling middle-grade novel Rules, about a young girl growing up with a brother who has autism, and her struggle to find acceptance and balance in her life. Cynthia will also be sharing her other middle-grade novels, Touch Blue and Half a Chance, as well as her Hotrod Hamster and Shelter Pet Squad books…

Find out more »

Mariam Gates at Porter Square Books

March 29 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Porter Square Books,
25 White St., Cambridge, MA 02140 United States
+ Google Map

For kids in early to middle childhood — and the lucky people who have to get them to bed — Good Night Yoga is both a bedtime story and a series of simple poses for following the natural world as it comes to rest at day’s end. Join us for combination reading and demonstration of yoga at its most soothing. Mariam Gates is the founder of the Kid Power Yoga Program. Although she has left us for the West Coast,…

Find out more »
April 2015
$100

Sources of Inspiration: History Through the Arts & the Lives of Artists conference at the JFK Library

April 1 @ 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum,
Columbia Point, Boston, MA 02125 United States
+ Google Map

The John Fitzgerald Kennedy National Historic Site and the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum are pleased to announce a conference for teachers and librarians of grades 3-8 on April 1, 2015. The conference builds on John F. Kennedy’s eloquent advocacy for the arts. He asked two renowned artists — poet Robert Frost and singer Marian Anderson — to participate in his inauguration, and honored many others during his presidency. John and Jacqueline Kennedy made the White House a…

Find out more »
$175/members; $225/nonmembers

“Develop Your Craft” course begins at The Writers’ Loft

April 2 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
The Writers’ Loft,
20 North Main St. #360, Sherborn, MA 01770 United States
+ Google Map
Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events