Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Past Events

Events List Navigation

January 2016

Nicole DeRosa Cannella at An Unlikely Story

January 23 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
An Unlikely Story,
111 South St.
Plainville, MA 02762 United States
+ Google Map

Come join local children’s author Nicole DeRosa Cannella for an afternoon of froggy fun — learning about what to do when facing a bullying situation in school, on the bus, or the on playground. Nicole specializes in working with children and has a background as a professional actor, which has led her to create a series of interactive games and exercises to encourage courage and compassion. Nicole will be reading from her book, The Ribbit Exhibit, signing copies and providing…

Find out more »

Alison Tolman-Rogers at the New England Mobile Book Fair

January 23 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
New England Mobile Book Fair,
82 Needham St.
Newton Highlands, MA 02461 United States
+ Google Map

Alison Tolman-Rogers’s Tales of Bertha Bat is a witty and engaging picture book sure to capture the imagination of children of all ages. The group of four stories works together to create a whole, culminating in a final surprise ending. The often-humorous illustrations complement the quirky text. Alison will be at the New England Mobile Book Fair on Saturday, January 23rd, 2016 to meet customers and sign copies of her book.

Find out more »

Jeff Kinney at The Blue Bunny — SOLD OUT

January 23 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
The Blue Bunny Books and Toys,
577 High St.
Dedham, MA 02026 United States
+ Google Map

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT! Meet Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. Jeff just finished a global tour with visits to over a dozen countries for the worldwide release of Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School.  Now, you can meet him here in Dedham, hear his amazing story, and get a book signed and personalized. Note: Due to the expected interest, this will be a ticketed event. Tickets cost $15 and include one…

Find out more »

Jef Czekaj at the Somerville Public Library

January 24 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Somerville Public Library, Central Branch,
79 Highland Ave.
Somerville, MA 02143 United States
+ Google Map

The Somerville Library is happy to welcome back local artist/musician/children’s book author Jef Czekaj, who will host a DJ dance party for children and families! Jef is a Somerville resident and dad. He plays kid-friendly grown-up music. He takes requests and kids can do shout outs to their friends!  You might also get to hear him read a book or two — beats and books, can’t top that!

Find out more »

Emily Martin at Porter Square Books

January 26 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Porter Square Books,
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140 United States
+ Google Map

In the tradition of Sarah Dessen, Emily Martin’s powerful debut novel The Year We Fell Apart is a compelling portrait of a young girl coping with her mother’s cancer as she figures out how to learn from and fix her past. Few things come as naturally to Harper as epic mistakes. In the past year she was kicked off the swim team, earned a reputation as Carson High’s easiest hook-up, and officially became the black sheep of her family. But…

Find out more »

Boston Comics Roundtable at the CPL

January 28 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Cambridge Public Library,
449 Broadway
Cambridge, MA 02138 United States
+ Google Map

The Boston Comics Roundtable (BCR) is an ongoing forum for artists and writers at all levels of experience who work in the comics medium or wish to. We are dedicated to the premise that comics is an art form that can encompass any genre — not just humor, action, etc. but autobiography, history, journalism and fiction, poetry and even abstraction, to name a few. Bring your work for creative feedback and motivation, discuss comics and graphic novels you’re reading, and…

Find out more »

Rebecca Podos at Trident Booksellers and Cafe

January 28 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Trident Booksellers and Cafe,
338 Newbury St.
Boston, MA 02115 United States
+ Google Map

Trident is excited to welcome Rebecca Podos to celebrate the launch of her new book, The Mystery of Hollow Places. The evening will feature a Q+A with local author Mackenzi Lee. About the Book Imogene Scott, the daughter of a bestselling mystery writer, was raised on stories of troubled, solitary detectives whose only superpower was their tireless search for the truth. When her father goes missing, she sets out to find him using the skills she’s learned from his books. Along the way she uncovers…

Find out more »
Free

July in January Manuscript Mixer at The Writers’ Loft

January 29 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
The Writers’ Loft,
20 North Main St. #360
Sherborn, MA 01770 United States
+ Google Map

Enjoy tropical snacks and tiki treats while you practice your pitch or read from your manuscript at the open mic. Warm (get it?) applause guaranteed! Find a beta reader, critique partner, or maybe even a beach buddy! Summery attire encouraged. Snow date: Saturday, January 31 at 7 pm.

Find out more »

Jarrett Krosoczka at An Unlikely Story

January 30 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
An Unlikely Story,
111 South St.
Plainville, MA 02762 United States
+ Google Map

Jarrett Krosoczka will be visiting An Unlikely Story to celebrate the release of his collaborative book, Comics Squad: Lunch! Jarrett will do a brief reading, talk about the Comics Squad series, conduct a brief drawing demonstration, answer audience questions and sign copies of his books. This event requires registration, which will become available here on January 16th at 1pm. About the Book Calling all kids! Do you like comics? Do you like laughing till milk comes out of your nose?!…

Find out more »
February 2016

Susan E. Goodman and E. B. Lewis at Harvard Book Store

February 3 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Harvard Book Store,
1256 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138 United States
+ Google Map

Harvard Book Store welcomes Susan E. Goodman, author of over thirty nonfiction children’s books, and award-winning illustrator E. B. Lewis for a presentation of their book The First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on Trial. They will discuss what goes into the creation and publication of children’s books, the collaboration between author and illustrator, and the reserach involved in writing nonfiction. About The First Step In 1847, a young African American girl named Sarah Roberts was attending a school in Boston. Then…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events