Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan at Brookline Booksmith

November 25, 2013 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Authors Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan will appear at the Brookline Booksmith on November 25th to celebrate their latest YA novels, Rowell’s Fangirl and Levithan’s Two Boys Kissing.

9781250030955 Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan at Brookline BooksmithIn Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words.. And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Praise for Fangirl:

“Absolutely captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A funny and tender coming-of-age story that’s also the story of a writer finding her voice… touching and utterly real.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell’s incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling and triumphant relationships… Fans of Eleanor & Park and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own.” —Booklist (starred review)

“A charming coming-of-age novel… filled with complex subjects (such as divorce, abandonment, and mental illness) handled in a realistic manner, and the writing effortlessly and seamlessly weaves these threads together.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Rainbow Rowell lives in Omaha, Nebraska, with her husband and two sons. She’s also the author of Attachments and Eleanor & Park.

 

9780307931900 Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan at Brookline BooksmithIn his follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Every Day, David Levithan, co-author of bestsellers Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, tells the based-on-true-events story of Harry and Craig, two 17-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record — all of which is narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS. While the two increasingly dehydrated and sleep-deprived boys are locking lips, they become a focal point in the lives of other teen boys dealing with languishing long-term relationships, coming out, navigating gender identity, and falling deeper into the digital rabbit hole of gay hookup sites — all while the kissing former couple tries to figure out their own feelings for each other.

Praise for Two Boys Kissing:

“Author David Levithan’s poignant novel follows the stories of gay teens joined through an unconventional protest. A-” —Entertainment Weekly

“Over the years, Levithan has consistently explored new creative territory… Two Boys Kissing reveals his command of an intriguing, complex narrative with an unusual point of view: the first-person plural. This ‘we’ is the combined voice of men who died during the AIDS pandemic several decades ago. As the boys’ stories become more closely entwined and connect in a satisfying finale, the reflections of these ‘shadow uncles’ lend a quality of retrospection that is rare (and refreshing) in YA literature.” —The Washington Post

“Open, frank and ultimately optimistic.” —The Los Angeles Times

“We stand on the shoulders of those who came before us, goes an oft-paraphrased line. David Levithan gives vivid voice to it in his latest YA novel, Two Boys Kissing.” —Newsday

David Levithan is a children’s book editor in New York City, and the author of several books for young adults, including Boy Meets Boy, Love Is the Higher Law, and Every Day. He coauthored Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green, and Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares with Rachel Cohn.

share save 171 16 Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan at Brookline Booksmith

Details

Date:
November 25, 2013
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
http://www.brooklinebooksmith-shop.com/event/rainbow-rowell-fangirl

Organizer

Brookline Booksmith
Phone:
617-566-6660
Email:
Website:
http://www.brooklinebooksmith.com/

Venue

Brookline Booksmith
Phone:
617-566-6660
279 Harvard St., Brookline, MA 02446 United States
+ Google Map
Website:
http://www.brooklinebooksmith.com/