Subscribe to The Horn Book

2017 BGHB/HBAS celebration roundup

The 2017 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards judges and winners. Back row, L-R: Judge Pauletta Bracy, Matthew Cordell, Nikki Grimes, Steve Sheinkin, Angie Thomas, Judge Sheila Geraty, Deborah Heiligman, Melissa Sweet, Sydney Smith, Chair Julie Roach, Richard Peck, Joanne Schwartz. Front: Ashley Bryan. Photo: Aram Boghosian for The Boston Globe.

We’re not done celebrating the 2017 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards just yet! We’ll be adding online coverage of the winners, the ceremony, and the #HBAS17 Colloquium: “Resistance” all week long, so keep checking back! Look for more (including the inspiring acceptance speeches) in the January/February 2018 issue of The Horn Book Magazine. #resist 😉

On the 2017 winners, ceremony, and colloquium

On the BGHB Awards’ 50-year history

BGHB fun and games






Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind