Subscribe to The Horn Book

Visit the Boston Globe–Horn Book website.

2017 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards acceptance speeches roundup

The 2017 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards judges and winners. Back row, L-R: Judge Pauletta Bracy, Matthew Cordell, Nikki Grimes, Steve Sheinkin, Angie Thomas, Judge Sheila Geraty, Deborah Heiligman, Melissa Sweet, Sydney Smith, Chair Julie Roach, Richard Peck, Joanne Schwartz. Front: Ashley Bryan. Photo: Aram Boghosian for The Boston Globe.

All week we’ve been posting the moving and inspiring acceptance speeches from our 2017 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards winners. We’ve collected all of the speeches below, along with reviews of the winning books and some extras (interviews! articles! previous speeches!) on the winners and their work. See the January/February 2018 issue of The Horn Book Magazine for the judges’ remarks and additional photos; browse the new BGHB website for more on the awards’ fifty-year history.

Picture Book category

Fiction & Poetry category

Nonfiction category

Click on the tag BGHB17 for more resources on this year’s winners.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind