Subscribe to The Horn Book
Visit the Boston Globe–Horn Book website.

2018 BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award winners extras

Horn Book editor in chief Roger Sutton and Boston Globe Foundation president Emily Procknal announced the 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award winners on May 31st, 2018, via Facebook Live. A winner and two honor books were selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. You can watch the announcement video here and read the press release here.

Read reviews of all of the 2018 Fiction and Poetry winners here; see below for more web extras about them.


The 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Fiction and Poetry Award winner is The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen).


The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson (Levine/Scholastic) received a BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award Honor.

The First Rule of Punk written and illustrated by Celia C. Pérez (Viking) received a BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award Honor.

From the June 2018 issue of The Horn Book Herald. Click here for a list of past BGHB winners and honorees. For book reviews, acceptance speeches, and more, click on the tags Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards or BGHB18.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind