2018 BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award winners extras

Horn Book editor in chief Roger Sutton and Boston Globe Foundation president Emily Procknal announced the 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award winners on May 31st, 2018, via Facebook Live. A winner and two honor books were selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. You can watch the announcement video here and read the press release here.

Read reviews of all of the 2018 Fiction and Poetry winners here; see below for more web extras about them.


The 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Fiction and Poetry Award winner is The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen).


The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson (Levine/Scholastic) received a BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award Honor.

The First Rule of Punk written and illustrated by Celia C. Pérez (Viking) received a BGHB Fiction and Poetry Award Honor.

From the June 2018 issue of The Horn Book Herald. Click here for a list of past BGHB winners and honorees. For book reviews, acceptance speeches, and more, click on the tags Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards or BGHB18.
Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more


We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.