It's Almost Time!

We here at Calling Caldecott want to take a moment to thank everyone who voted in this week’s 2021 Calling Caldecott Mock Vote. Here are the results if you missed them yesterday. And if mock-voting is not your thing but you have read along with us for the past five months or so, we thank you for joining us!

We also want to thank all the guests who visited Calling Caldecott in 2020 and early this year to contribute such thoughtfully crafted posts and to share their perspectives and insights with our readers. We are immensely grateful and couldn’t do it without them. Thank you to Mahasin A. Aleem, Autumn Allen, Luisana Duarte Armendáriz, Betsy Bird, Rebekah Dutkiewicz, Shoshana Flax, Elisa Gall, Elissa Gershowitz, Jonathan Hunt, Alia Jones, Travis Jonker, Allison Grover Khoury, Megan Dowd Lambert, Niki Marion, Erica Marks, Michelle H. Martin, Grace McKinney, Cathryn Mercier, Sabrina Montenigro, Nicholl Montgomery, Rachel Payne, Adrienne Pettinelli, Emily Prabhaker, Julie Roach, Hill Saxton, Dean Schneider, Emmie Stuart, Sylvia Vardell, and Brian Wilson.

And, as always, big thanks to Media Source's Research Manager Laura Girmscheid, who every year creates the poll for our mock vote. We couldn't do that without her. 

It has been quite a year, huh? We are grateful that, even in the midst of a pandemic, we still had access to such wonderful books, that we could share them with you all, and that you all could be a part of our discussion.

We will be back after the real Caldecott Awards are announced this Monday at 8 a.m. Central Time to share the winners, reflect on the choices, and ask for your thoughts. After that, we’ll hear which book is Dean Schneider’s choice for the 2021 Robin Smith Picture Book Prize.

Which books have you crossing your fingers for some Caldecott recognition? Not long now!


Martha V. Parravano and Julie Danielson
Martha V. Parravano is book review editor of The Horn Book, Inc., and co-author of the Calling Caldecott blog. Julie Danielson, co-author of the Calling Caldecott blog, writes about picture books at the blog Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

Molly Sloan

I just wanted to share that that the Caldecott Club of Portland Jewish Academy persevered through virtual learning to choose one winner and four honor books this year.Winner: Oil by Jonah and Jeanette WinterHonor Books:All Because You Matter by Tami Charles and illustrated by Bryan CollierNight Walk To the Sea by Deborah Wiles and Illustrated by Daniel MiyaresHike by Pete OswaldA Thousand Glass Flowers by Evan TurkWe will be eager along with the rest of you to learn what the ALA Committee chooses this weekend!

Posted : Jan 23, 2021 12:25

jules Danielson

Thanks for sharing, Molly!

Posted : Jan 23, 2021 12:25


Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more


We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing