Woman of the Year

Congrats to Jacqueline Woodson for winning the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, first given to Maurice Sendak in 2003; Jackie is the fourth American to win, after Katherine Paterson and Meg Rosoff.

I met Jackie in 1990 in Chicago, where Delacorte had sent her all by her lonesome on her first book tour (for Last Summer at Maizon). Betsy, Hazel, Zena, Ann Carlson, and I took her to dinner at, of all unlikely places, the old Pump Room (actually, Scholastic took all of us) and she was lovely. It's been a real pleasure to see her sustain a career--the Children's Ambassadorship, Laura Ingalls Wilder Award and now the Lindgren are well-deserved. All in the same year! (Although I'm guessing that is a curse as well as a blessing.)

For your reading pleasure, here is Jackie's 2006 Sutherland Lecture, "How Do I Come Home Again?" (And don't miss this year's Lecture, "Look Here. Not There," by Rita Williams-Garcia, on Friday, May 4th at the Harold Washington Library Center.)


Roger Sutton
Roger Sutton
Roger Sutton has been the editor in chief of The Horn Book, Inc, since 1996. He was previously editor of The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books and a children's and young adult librarian. He received his M.A. in library science from the University of Chicago in 1982 and a B.A. from Pitzer College in 1978. Follow him on Twitter: @RogerReads.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more