Subscribe to The Horn Book
Catherine Gilbert Murdock

About Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Catherine Gilbert Murdock's debut middle grade novel, The Book of Boy, will be published by Greenwillow Books in Winter 2018. Catherine is also the author of Dairy Queen, The Off Season, Front and Center, Heaven Is Paved with Oreos, Princess Ben, and Wisdom's Kiss. She grew up in Connecticut and now lives in suburban Philadelphia with her husband, two children, and two vocal cats.

Magic Books

I am an author. But before I wrote books, I read them. My parents claim I made them read aloud the front matter — the publisher’s address, the Library of Congress data. In elementary school, I added ISBN numbers to the stories I wrote. Those numbers conveyed legitimacy, even if I didn’t know what ISBN […]

The Adventures of Mommy Buzzkill

Here’s an interesting game: name one children’s adventure story — just one — in which the mother is present. A short list of things that wouldn’t make the cut includes The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, A Series of Unfortunate Events, Madeline, The Secret Garden, “Cinderella,” Eragon, the Bartimaeus trilogy, My Father’s Dragon, James and the […]