>If you liked The Lost Symbol . . .

>It occurs to me that now that Robert Langdon has raced around Rome, Paris, and D.C. he ought to go to New York; precisely to Madeleine L’Engle’s current residence, the Cathedral of St. John the Divine. His readers would love her; hers, I’m not so sure about.

share save 171 16 >If you liked The Lost Symbol . . .
Roger Sutton About Roger Sutton

Roger Sutton has been the editor in chief of The Horn Book, Inc, since 1996. He was previously editor of The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books and a children's and young adult librarian. He received his M.A. in library science from the University of Chicago in 1982 and a B.A. from Pitzer College in 1978. Follow him on Twitter: @RogerReads.

Comments

  1. J. L. Bell says:

    >The builders of St. John the Divine left cryptic messages in the stonework—messages that come to us all the way from the 1970s!

    Hmmm. Not seeing it. Scary, but not in a good way.

  2. Roger Sutton says:

    >Just imagine Tom Hanks in flared pants hitting a secret button to reveal a hologram of L'Engle in a rosary-beaded Nehru jacket.

  3. Anonymous says:

    >Perhaps someone should spearhead a marketing campaign to repackage L'Engle's books a la Jane Eyre and Twilight. As in, give them misleading Dan Brown-esque jackets and slap a "Robert Langdon's childhood inspiration" sticker on the cover or something? THAT I would love to see. ;)

    Claire

  4. Anonymous says:

    >She gave the Cathedral the "Dan Brown" treatment herself – The Young Unicorns.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*