Choose your own teenage dream

The model made popular by the Choose Your Own Adventure middle-grade books comes to a teen audience in two new paperback series with massive appeal for reluctant-reader girls.

clark maybe tonight Choose your own teenage dreamclark you only live once Choose your own teenage dreamBridie Clark’s Snap Decision series, which debuted last summer with Maybe Tonight? (Roaring Brook, August 2013), places the reader in the driver’s seat to navigate life at a prep school. In breezy second-person narration rife with timely pop-culture nods, “your” choices involve glamorous friends, glitzy parties, hot guys, and fabulous trips. The second installment, You Only Live Once­­ (is “YOLO” still everyone’s favorite acronym?), publishes this month.

santopolo summer love Choose your own teenage dreamIn Summer Love (Speak/Penguin, May 2014), first in her Follow Your Heart series, Jill Santopolo takes the formula on a summer beach trip during which readers (fresh from a sweet sixteen party “six — no, seven — days ago”) flirt, date, and look for love at every turn. Ideal for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman (included on the “other books your may enjoy” list in the opening pages), this is a diverting prescription for summer-vacation reading.

share save 171 16 Choose your own teenage dream
Katrina Hedeen About Katrina Hedeen

Katrina Hedeen is assistant editor of The Horn Book Guide and manager of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards.

Speak Your Mind

*