2019 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards Acceptance Speeches Roundup

The 2019 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award winners, judges, and presenters. L-R: Brian Norman, Jason Chin, Miranda Paul, Cynthia K. Ritter, Kekla Magoon, Kim Parker, Roger Sutton, Adib Khorram, Yuyi Morales, Debbie Levy, Jo Ann Allen Boyce, Gina Krosoczka, Zoe Krosoczka, Karen Boss, and Meredith Goldstein. Photo: Aram Boghosian for the Boston Globe.


We've compiled all of the fabulous acceptance speeches from our 2019 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards winners, along with reviews of the winning books and some extras (interviews! articles! previous speeches!) on the winners and their work. See the January/February 2020 issue of The Horn Book Magazine and the tag BGHB19 for more on this inspirational event.

Picture Book category

Fiction and Poetry category

Nonfiction category



Click on the tag BGHB19 for more resources on this year’s winners.

Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more


We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.