ALA Awards 2016: Horn Book reviews of the winners


The most prestigious honors in children’s literature, the Newbery and Caldecott medals, were awarded to Matt de la Peña for Last Stop on Market Street and Sophie Blackall for Finding Winnie on January 11, 2016, at the American Library Association’s midwinter meeting in Boston. Also announced at the gathering were the winners of the Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré, Michael L. Printz, Robert F. Sibert, and Mildred L. Batchelder awards and several other major honors. Follow the links below for more information about all the winning titles, including in many cases their reviews in The Horn Book Magazine or The Horn Book Guide.

Newbery Medal
Caldecott Medal
Belpré Award (Author and Illustrator)
Coretta Scott King Awards (Author and Illustrator)
Printz Award
Sibert Award
Batchelder Award

Additional ALA awards
Alex, Arbuthnot, Carnegie, Edwards, Geisel, Hamilton, Morris, Odyssey, Schneider, Steptoe, Stonewall, Wilder, and YALSA Nonfiction awards

ALSC Notable Children’s Books list

Best Fiction for Young Adults list

2016 Great Graphic Novels for Teens

2016 Rainbow Book List

For more, click on the tag ALA Midwinter 2016.
Horn Book
Horn Book
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


I really like the books. I think they all reflect such high quality and such excellent story telling supported by beautiful and challenging art. And that is the point, right? While they are not all books I expected, that happens to me every year. I want to congratulate and thank The Horn Book for excellent reviews, articles, interviews, guidance, and perspectives all year.

Posted : Jan 13, 2016 11:30


Doesn't the book win, not the author? In which case "Last Stop on Market Street" is the work of both Matt de la Pena and Christian Robinson?? The fact that the illustrator of a picture book is mentioned only as an aside in the reporting of this award (all over news media, not just here) is mind-boggling. I love the words and pictures in this book and I can't imagine either one succeeding on their own. If you award a Newbery to a picture book, you have to recognize the person who made the pictures, no?

Posted : Jan 13, 2016 05:25

Sam Juliano

Amen to that Roberta! :)

Posted : Jan 12, 2016 09:16

Roberta Rivera

Congratulations to all the winners and honorees! I'm amazed the quality books that go through the process in the committees. I can only imagine what a difficult task it is. We've been so fortunate that the librarians lovingly look at each book. I'm grateful to them.

Posted : Jan 12, 2016 04:41

Charlene Williams

I too was sad to not see Float by Daniel Miyares not on the list of Caldecott Honors. I was certainly rooting for him. I have yet to read Finding Winnie, but I do know it was on many lists for predictions. Hats of to the Winners and the Honors.

Posted : Jan 12, 2016 03:44

View More Comments


Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more


We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing