Subscribe to The Horn Book

Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards

First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children’s and young adult literature.

Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category.

The winning titles must be published in the United States but they may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges who are annually appointed by the Editor of the Horn Book.


The 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards Announcement

Facebook Live
Don’t miss Horn Book Editor in Chief, Roger Sutton, and President of the Boston Globe Foundation and Boston Globe Community Relations Manager, Emily Procknal, on Thursday, May 31 at 12 PM ET — LIVE from — as they announce the winners of the 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards.

2017 Winners and Honor Books

2016 Winners and Honor Books
Video of 2016 Awards announcement

2015 Winners and Honor Books

2014 Winners and Honor Books

2013 Winners and Honor Books
Video from 2013 ceremony

2012 Winners and Honor Books
Video from 2012 ceremony

2011 Winners and Honor Books
Video from 2011 ceremony

Past Winners and Honor Books

Submission Guidelines