2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award Winner Interviews

On October 6th, the morning following the 2018 Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards ceremony, Roger Sutton sat down to chat with several of the winners and judges. Watch their conversations below; click on the tag BGHB18 for much more (speeches! photos! timeline! reviews!) on the winning books and the ceremony itself.

Picture Book Award winner Jillian Tamaki (They Say Blue), Nonfiction Award winner Isabel Quintero (author, Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide), and Picture Book honoree Julie Fogliano (author, When's My Birthday?)

Fiction & Poetry Award winner Elizabeth Acevedo (The Poet X) and honorees Celia C. Pérez (The First Rule of Punk) and Varian Johnson (The Parker Inheritance)

Judge Minh Lê and committee chair Katie Bircher

Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.