ALA Awards 2023: Horn Book Reviews of the Winners

The most prestigious honors in children’s literature, the Newbery and Caldecott medals, were awarded to Amina Luqman-Dawson for Freewater and Doug Salati for Hot Dog on January 30, 2023, at the American Library Association’s virtual LibLearnX. Also announced at the gathering were the winners of the Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré, Michael L. Printz, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Robert F. Sibert awards and several other major honors. Follow the links below for more information about all the winning titles, including in many cases their reviews in The Horn Book Magazine or Guide/Reviews Database.


Newbery Medal
Caldecott Medal
Belpré Award (Author, Illustrator, and YA)
Coretta Scott King Awards (Author and Illustrator)
Geisel Award
Printz Award
Sibert Award


Additional ALA awards
Alex, ALSC Children's Literature Lecture, APALA, Batchelder, Children's Literature Legacy, CSK-Steptoe, CSK-Hamilton, Edwards, Morris, Odyssey, Schneider, Stonewall, Sydney Taylor Book, and YALSA Nonfiction awards


For more, click on the tag ALA LibLearnX 2023.

Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.