After the Call: Heavy Medals

(c) 2022 by Lois Lowry.

From the May/June 2022 special issue of The Horn Book Magazine: The Newbery Centennial.

Lois Lowry

Two-time winner Lois Lowry won the Newbery Medal in 1990 for Number the Stars and in 1994 for The Giver. Her latest books are On the Horizon and The Willoughbys Return (all Clarion/HarperCollins).

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.