Additional ALA Awards 2017

Alex Awards

for the ten best adult books that appeal to teen audiences

• The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst (Harper Voyager)
The Regional Office is Under Attack! by Manuel Gonzales (Riverhead/Penguin Random House)
In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero with Michelle Burford (Holt)
Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded by Hannah Hart (Dey Street/Morrow/HarperCollins)
Arena by Holly Jennings (Ace/HarperCollins)
• Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (Tor)
Romeo and/or Juliet: A Choosable-Path Adventure by Ryan North (Riverhead/Penguin Random House)
• Die Young with Me: A Memoir by Rob Rufus (Touchstone/Simon & Schuster)
The Wasp that Brainwashed the Caterpillar by Matt Simon (Penguin)
• The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach (St. Martin's Press)

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children’s literature, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site

Naomi Shihab Nye will deliver the 2017 lecture

Andrew Carnegie Medal

for excellence in children’s video

Drum Dream Girl: How One Girl's Courage Changed Music produced by Ryan Swenar of Dreamscape Media

Margaret A. Edwards Award

for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

Sarah Dessen, whose books include: Dreamland, Keeping the Moon, Just Listen, The Truth about Forever, Along for the Ride, What Happened to Goodbye?, and This Lullabye, all published by Viking Children's Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers Group

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

for the most distinguished beginning reader book

We Are Growing!: A Mo Willems' Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book written and illustrated by Laurie Keller (Hyperion)

Honor Books

• Good Night Owl written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli (Disney Hyperion)
• Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: An Alphabet Caper written and illustrated by Mike Twohy (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins)
• Go, Otto, Go! written and illustrated by David Milgrim (Simon Spotlight)
• The Infamous Ratsos
written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers (Candlewick)

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

given by the Coretta Scott King Task Force for lifetime achievement

Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop

William C. Morris Award

honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults

The Serpent King
by Jeff Zentner (Crown)

Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard (HarperTeen)
Rani Patel in Full Effect by Sonia Patel (Cinco Puntos)
The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (Lamb/Random)
Tell Me Something Real by Calla Devlin (Atheneum)

Odyssey Award

for excellence in audiobook production

Anna and the Swallow Man written by Gavriel Savit and narrated by Allan Corduner (Listening Library)

Honor Books
Ghost written by Jason Reynolds and narrated by Guy Lockard (Simon and Schuster Audio)
Dream On, Amber written by Emma Shevah and narrated by Laura Kirman (Recorded Books)
Nimona written and illustrated by Noelle Stevenson and narrated by Rebecca Soler, Jonathan Davis, Mac Thompson, January LaVoy, Natalie Gold, Peter Bradbury, and David Pittu (HarperAudio)

Schneider Family Book Award

for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

Children ages 0–10
Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille by Jen Bryant; illus. by Boris Kulikov (Knopf)

Middle School, ages 11–13
As Brave as You by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum)

Teen, ages 13–18
When We Collided
by Emery Lord (Bloomsbury)

John Steptoe New Talent Award

given by the Coretta Scott King Task Force to young authors or illustrators who demonstrate outstanding promise

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award:
The Sun Is Also a Star
written by Nicola Yoon (Clarion)

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award

given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience

Children's Winner
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan (Disney Hyperion)

Young Adult Winner
If I Was Your Girl
by Meredith Russo (Flatiron)

Honor books
When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore (Thomas Dunne)
Unbecoming by Jenny Downham (Scholastic)
Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community by Robin Stevenson (Orca)

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

given biannually to honor an author or illustrator for a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children

Nikki Grimes

YALSA Nonfiction Award

for excellence in nonfiction for young adults

March: Book Three by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin; illus. by Nate Powell (Top Shelf)

Hillary Rodham Clinton: A Woman Living History by Karen Blumenthal (Feiwel)
In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives by Kenneth C. Davis (Holt)
Samurai Rising: The Epic Life of Minamoto Yoshitsune written by Pamela S. Turner; illus. by Gareth Hinds (Charlesbridge)
This Land Is Our Land: A History of American Immigration by Linda Barrett Osborne (Abrams)

See the Horn Book's reviews of major 2017 ALA Youth Media Award winners.

For more, click on the tag ALA Midwinter 2017.
Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.