Children's Literature Lecture Nominations

The Children’s Literature Lecture Award Committee is seeking suggestions for our 2024 honoree (note: this is not the same as the Children's Literature Legacy Award). The lecture will be given in 2024 at a site to be chosen next year.

The lecturer may be an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children’s literature, of any country, who shall prepare a talk considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature. Recent past winners include Bryan Collier (at right), Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop, Neil Gaiman, Dr. Debbie Reese, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Jacqueline Woodson. The complete list of past lecturers is on the ALSC website.

The nomination form is available online to ALSC members and the deadline for submissions is August 18.  

The 2024 lecturer will be announced at the 2023 ALA LibLearnX Conference in January in New Orleans. For more details about the lecture, please visit the Children’s Literature Lecture Award site.

Elissa Gershowitz

Elissa Gershowitz is editor in chief of The Horn Book, Inc. She holds an MA from the Center for the Study of Children's Literature at Simmons University and a BA from Oberlin College.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.