First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June,
the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors
in the field of children’s and young adult literature.

Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category.

The winning titles must be published in the United States but they may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges who are annually appointed by the editor in chief of the Horn Book.

Join us every day in October 2020 as we celebrate, for the first time, the virtual Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards!

Click here to view the BGHB submission guidelines

Past winners and honor books



Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to reviews of books, ebooks, and more