ALA Awards 2021: Horn Book Reviews of the Winners

The most prestigious honors in children’s literature, the Newbery and Caldecott medals, were awarded to Tae Keller for When You Trap a Tiger and Michaela Goade for We Are Water Protectors on January 25, 2021, at the American Library Association’s virtual midwinter meeting. Also announced at the gathering were the winners of the Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré, Michael L. Printz, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Robert F. Sibert awards and several other major honors. Follow the links below for more information about all the winning titles, including in many cases their reviews in The Horn Book Magazine or Guide/Reviews Database.


Newbery Medal
Caldecott Medal
Belpré Award (Author, Illustrator, and YA)
Coretta Scott King Awards (Author and Illustrator)
Geisel Award
Printz Award
Sibert Award


Additional ALA awards
Alex, APALA, Sydney Taylor, Batchelder, Children's Literature Legacy, Early Learning Digital Media, Edwards, CSK-Hamilton, Morris, Odyssey, Schneider, CSK-Steptoe, Stonewall, and YALSA Nonfiction awards


ALA Midwinter recap


ALSC Notable Children’s Books list

Great Graphic Novels for Teens

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list



For more, click on the tag ALA Midwinter 2021.

Horn Book
Horn Book

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing.